Counseling Staff


Counseling Staff

Najia Azizi, EOPS Coordinator and Counselor
nazizi@contracosta.edu
510.215.3906
*Bilingual (Farsi)

BA in Sociology, California State University, East Bay
MA in Counseling, College Student Services and Career Counseling, Saint Mary's College of California
Sarah Boland, Career Counselor
sboland@contracosta.edu
510-215-3907

BA, Communication Studies, University of Rhode Island
MA, Counseling, Career Counseling Emphasis, University of San Diego
Luci Castruita, Counselor
lcastruita@contracosta.edu
510.215.3910
*Bilingual (Spanish)

BA in Physical Education, University of California, Santa Barbara
MA in Educational Psychology, Counseling and Guidance, California State University, Northridge
Ruth Gorman, DSPS Counselor
rgorman@contracosta.edu
(510) 215-3915

BA in Human Development, California State University, Hayward
MS in Counseling, Rehabilitation, College and Career, Marriage, Family and Child Counseling, San Francisco State University
Suzanne Huey, Counselor
shuey@contracosta.edu
(510) 215-3912
*Bilingual (Cantonese)

BA, University of California, Berkeley
MS, California State University, Hayward
Maritza Jackson-Sandoval, Counselor
mvandevoorde@contracosta.edu
(510) 215-3908
*Puente Project Counselor & Co-Coordinator
*Bilingual (Spanish)
*Alpha Gamma Sigma (AGS) Advisor

BA in Spanish Literature, San Francisco State University
MS in Counseling, Rehabilitation and Marriage/Family Therapy, San Francisco State University
Dionne Perez, EOPS Counselor
dperez@contracosta.edu
(510) 215-3911

AA in Liberal Arts and Social Science, Laney College
BS in Psychology, University of California, Santa Cruz
MS in Counseling, San Francisco State University
Andrea Phillips, Counselor
aphillips@contracosta.edu
(510) 215-3914
*Transfer Services Coordination
*Athletics
*Veterans

BA in Ethnic Studies, University of California, Berkeley
MA in Education, Stanford University
MS in Counseling Psychology, California State University, East Bay
Credentials: Single Subject Social Studies & Pupil Personnel Service (Counseling)
Julie Skoler, EOPS/CARE Counselor
jskoler@contracosta.edu
510.215.3917
*Bilingual (Spanish)

B.A. in Spanish, Simmons College
M.Ed. in Early Childhood Education, Lesley University
M.A. in Counseling, College Student Services, Saint Mary's College of California
Credentials: Certified in Bilingual Spanish, Bilingual Early Childhood, and Early Childhood (Department of Education, The Commonwealth of Massachusetts)​

Norma Valdez-Jimenez, Counselor
nvaldez-jimenez@contracosta.edu
(510) 215-3916
*Bilingual (Spanish)
*Veterans
*Counseling Department Co-Chair, 2013-2015
*HSI STEM/Adelante Counselor

General Education, Contra Costa College
BA in Psychology, San Francisco State University
MS in Counseling, College and Career Counseling, San Francisco State University
Robert Webster, Athletics Counselor
rwebster@contracosta.edu
(510) 215-3913
*Veterans' Counselor
*Articulation
*Counseling Department Co-Chair, 2013-2015

AA in General Education, Chabot College
BS in Physical Education, California State University, Hayward
MS in Psychology, San Jose State University
Alfred Zuniga, Counselor
azuniga@contracosta.edu
(510) 215-6041
*Bilingual (Spanish)

BA in Philosophy, Gonzaga University
MA in Theology, Santa Clara University
MA in Mexican American Studies, San Jose State University
MA in Education, Stanford University
Adjunct CounselorsKimm Blackwell, HSI STEM & General Counselor
kblackwell@contracosta.edu

Bruce Furuya, Athletics Counselor
bfuruya@contracosta.edu

Jesekah Odom, EOPS Counselor
jodom@contracosta.edu

Rodney Webster, EOPS Counselor, Athletics Counselor
rowebster@contracosta.edu

Somayeh Yazdanpanah, CalWORKs Counselor
syazdanpanah@contracosta.edu

Kristina Bennett, Career & General Counselor
kbennett@contracosta.edu

Monica Nolasco, Outreach Counselor
mnolasco@contracosta.edu

Irene Chung, CTE Counselor,
ichung@contracosta.edu

Maria Escobar, CTE Counselor,
mescobar@contracosta.edu